Trans Nzoia County is located in the former Rift Valley Province. It covers an area of  2,495.5 sq Km. Temperatures range between 10°C and 37°C, while average rainfall  is 11,200mm per annum. It has 2 Local Authorities (Nzoia County Council, Municipal Council of Kitale) Kitale Town is the administrative headquarters.

Economy of Trans Nzoia County

Agriculture is the leading economic activity as the county is considered the bread basket of Kenya due to its large scale maize farms. The county is considered to be one of the most food secure in Kenya. Other economic activities include Horticulture, Wheat Farming, Tea, Coffee, , Fishing  and commerce with Kitale Town bein the main commercial hub.

The county hosts tourist attractions such as the Mt. Elgon National Park part of which sits the Mount Elgon, Kenya’s Second highest mountain, Kitale Nature Conservancy, Saiwa Swamp National Park.

More Information

Click here for more information and data on Trans Nzoia County