Kiambu County is located in central Kenya.. It covers an area of 2,543 sq km with average tempratures of 18.7°C and 989mm of rainfall per annum. The county has 8 (Municipal councils of Kiambu, Limuru, Thika, and Ruiru, County Councils of Kiambu and Thika, Town Councils of Kikuyu and Karuri). Kiambu town is the administrative capital.

Economy Kiambu County

With rich highland soils coupled with very favourable climatic conditions, agriculture plays a very important role in the county’s economy. However with is proximity to Nairobi and limited land resources, the services sector is slowly replacing agriculture as a major economic activity. The county is undergoing rapid urbanisation as a result.

With its high population, the county has is a good source of labor for industrial production and agricultural value addition or the services sector. The county also have good tourist attractions and forest resources conducive for eco-tourism, camping and expendition sites.

More Information

Click here for more information and data on Kiambu County